What Is Your Relationship With Expressing Emotions?

Sunny Side Updates with The Brain is a Noodle || Week 59

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Jamie Brown on Unsplash

I’m someone who laughs easily, and cries … difficulty.

It’s easy to crack a joke that makes me laugh. As long as they’re not offensive and hurtful, I pretty much like them all, lame to brilliant.

Yet on the flip side, it takes a lot to make me cry. I don’t cry … at the usual things. I don’t cry at loss. I don’t cry about deaths. I don’t cry about negative things.

I mostly cry about instances when people come together and actually do something altruistic. Those moments in tv shows really hit me. It really made me reflect on why, helping me to realize that I cry because I don’t naturally believe in the hope that people can be kind, regardless of how much I promote it. Maybe … that’s why I promote it in the first place. It seems rare and we, as humanity, need more of it to happen.

Digging deep into why, how and when I express emotions has been so helpful in elucidating which beliefs I have. This brings…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.