What’s Something That Bothers You?

Poetry Prompt

Punch Drunk Cola
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readAug 31, 2021

--

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

What is something that bothers me?
Asked by Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
Something that tugs your heart
Or that keeps you up at night.

It stopped for a while
But this pandemic is back in my head
Delta, I heard is the name
21,000 new cases in my country just yesterday.

Lack of vaccine supplies, and operational snags
News of misused and unused funding
Our country may be one of the last
Do you know we even wear face shields with our masks?

I haven't been actively writing and commenting on Medium but I do check up on my favorite people here. I hope everyone is okay.

My entire family (except for me, since I do not live with them) recently contracted Covid-19 and my parents had to be hospitalized for pneumonia. They are now all home, safe and on the road to recovery. I never thought this will hit close to home. The last 2 weeks have been hell.

All our hospitals in the entire Metro Manila were full, even neighboring cities. Emergency rooms had a long line and have stopped taking in people. Patients had to be put in tents, where its hot and uncomfortable. This breaks my heart. I can also only imagine how difficult it is for our front liners and medical staff. I can also just pray for better days ahead.

How about you? How are you doing? Dennett Amy Marley Tatum Hamernik Vanessa Gunter Dr. Fatima Imam Karen Tang Agnes Louis Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) Elizabeth Weiner

--

--

Punch Drunk Cola
The Brain is a Noodle

A Xennial who takes too long making her coffee, turns her laundry pink and can never fold fitted sheets.