When Overwhelmed, a Friend May Be the Answer

It’s the little things along the way that count

Kim McKinney
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Selling my house
When the market is good,
Will allow me to create the life
Best for me now.

But I get overwhelmed,
With the stress of moving,
Too much for my mind to process
And the thought paralyzes me.

She quietly invites herself over
And suggests we do one thing.
A closet, a cupboard, another stack of papers,
One by one we tackle them, but never on the same day.

She senses my point of overload
And allows me to say stop,
But then asks
“So what can I help with on Thursday?:

Thanks, friend.

Thanks to Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) and The Brain is a Noodle for another great prompt, appreciating the small things. I challenge all writers reading this to think about the little things in your life and tell us what you appreciate!

--

--

Kim McKinney
The Brain is a Noodle

A non-niche writer who loves a good story. My ADHD mind thinks way too much for its own good, but I have grown to love it. An idea person.