Wings of Fire

A response poem

Marilyn Wolf
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Image by mykhailo pavlenko on shutterstock. (Image licensed by author)

Across the sky
on wings of fire,
my blood trails behind me
tracing my path for all to see.
Blood carries my words
both falling through clouds
empty, spent by the time
they touch the ground.
No one cleans up either.
Blood will dry, blow away;
words trampled, torn
until useless.
I will land an ashen shell
to be discarded with them.

©2022, Marilyn Wolf

Written in response to Lucy’s poem
Wings of Fire. a poem | by Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) | The Brain is a Noodle | Jun, 2022 | Medium

--

--

Marilyn Wolf
The Brain is a Noodle

Poet, author, wanderer, always curious. In Celebration of the Death of Faeries is her first book; she is currently editing a second.