3 Things I Discovered With a 50,000-word Goal and a Tight Deadline

A look at my first NaNoWriMo-esque challenge after finishing early

Teena Merlan
The Brave Writer
Published in
6 min readNov 24, 2020

--

Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

I was minding my own business, writing to process thoughts, emotions, and life in general like I always do when it started to take the shape of a nonfiction book.

Over the last few months, I have been doing quite a bit of inner work and felt like I was close to something important. But no matter how much I tried, I couldn’t figure it out. So I just kept writing. For months, I wrote and wrote. And in many cases, I thought, Hey, this could be a blog. So I would polish it up and then publish it.

When I had done that several times, I thought, Hey, these blogs actually fit well together. So I put them in one doc and started filling in the gaps.

One day I sat back and thought, Oh. It’s a book. I’m writing a book. I mean, I knew that’s what I was doing, but I was in denial. Though I was doing something I’ve always wanted to, I didn’t tell anyone — not even my husband. Even in my own mind, I didn’t call it a book. I didn’t know why, but I carefully kept it secret.

Finally, a couple of weeks in, I told my coach. As a fellow writer, she was excited for me but asked why I hadn’t told anyone else. I didn’t exactly know, but I felt…

--

--

Teena Merlan
The Brave Writer

Expert in my lived experience. Truth teller. Self-changer. Lifelong learner. Explorer.