Can You Get Tired of Writing?

7 steps to rekindle your love for your passion and fight writer’s block

Chris McQueen
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When you sit down after getting the third cup of coffee at your desk, and you open the blank page, you know exactly what’s coming.

Nothing.

The brilliant idea you just had in your head you wanted to write down has gone. It vanished to a place you’ll never be able to retrieve it from. You used to have those awe-inspiring ideas, fantastic writing styles and the ability to string a story together from just three random words.

All these abilities have left you and you’re wondering why. One thing is for sure: you’re not alone.

38 319 words

That’s how much I’ve written so far in my thesis. Admittedly, this includes 40 pages of transcriptions from six interviews, but it is still by far the most significant piece of written work I have ever created.

Writing my thesis has challenged me in three vastly different areas.

  1. I chose to write in English over German because it was most relevant for my content.
  2. Each chapter formed a milestone I had planned from day one.
  3. My social life was reduced to almost nothing if there is such a thing as social life mid pandemic.

--

--

Chris McQueen
The Brave Writer

Writer on Productivity and Life-Hack topics. Believer in the word of God. Get your motivation for the week: https://chris-mcqueen.ck.page