Creating a Business Model for Your Writing Career

How to set yourself up for success

Michelle Loucadoux
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Slidebean on Unsplash

As I embark upon a journey toward financial stability as a full-time writer, I realize that I need a solid game plan to succeed. And, as I have explained to all of my arts entrepreneurship students for so many years, no matter what your business is, no matter how small or large, you need a plan for its future. Even if your business just includes you, your coffee, your ideas, and your laptop.

A business plan doesn’t just exist to lay out a complex plan for the creation of a startup company that will eventually make its way to IPO. A business plan can be created for and is useful to any entrepreneur that would like to make a plan for how to proceed in their industry. And, it’s even more useful to refer back to as you proceed along your yellow brick road toward your goals. (Step away from the poppy fields, Dorothy!)

Sure, you can be successful if you don’t have a plan, but if you do have one, you’ll inevitably increase the velocity of your success train. Now, I had learned all of this while I was getting my master’s degree in business, but I hadn’t really thought until recently that I should apply it to my writing.

First things first, a business model is a plan that describes what a new business wants to do, how it will do it…

--

--

Michelle Loucadoux
The Brave Writer

Author, educator, and self-improvement nerd. Co-founder of Danscend. My books: shorturl.at/lrtOV My email: Loucadouxmichelle@gmail.com