Creative Burnout: What It Is and How to Soothe It

Creative burnout just means you need a little R&R.

Alyssa Mariko
The Brave Writer
3 min readJan 17, 2020

--

Creative burnout is a real thing. Like any muscle or habit, creativity requires consistency and discipline. It’s also possible to overexert your imagination.

When I first experienced creative burnout, I remember feeling confused and also ashamed. I love to write. It’s my passion and my dream. It should be fulfilling. Right?

Yes, writing is my passion and my dream, and it should be fulfilling, but it is also work. And like any person, writers get tired after work.

Creative burnout does not mean you should give up on your idea or your dream. It does not mean it’s time to drop this project and start a new one. All it means is that you need a little R&R, like any other human.

While I’m still learning to balance my day job and writing, here are a few things that have helped me soothe my creative burnout.

Take a break

If you are tired and burnt out, you need to rest, even from creating. Perhaps taking a break looks like reading for fun, or going to the movies. Maybe you even need a week-long hiatus from your work in progress.

Recently, I binged-watched Season 16 of So You Think You Can Dance. Taking a break helps me rest and refills my creative well. It also allows me some space from my project, so when I return, I can look at it with fresh eyes.

When taking a break, remember it should always be temporary. Be careful not to fall into the trap of an indefinite hiatus. Breaks should always be taken with the aim of recharging you so you can begin creating again.

Exercise

This does not mean you have to start hitting the treadmill for an hour a day (but if this works for you, by all means, do it!), but exercise can also help refill your creative well.

Studies are showing more evidence that physical exercise can help boost creativity and imagination. So if you’re feeling burnt out, recharge by going for a walk or a hike. Get outside of your workspace.

I’ve found that after a session of rock climbing (my exercise of choice. I will not be running, thank you very much) I might be physically tired, but my mind feels refreshed. This helps me to continue working on longer projects, such as novels.

Learn something

One of the best ways I can feel newly inspired is by learning something. This can be learning something entirely new for you, or you can deepen your knowledge on a topic you already know about.

As a writer, you will always be learning. I’ve found that taking the time to be a student in my craft actually inspires me as much as it teaches me. After reading some chapters on writing craft, I have new ideas I want to write about, and new techniques I want to try.

I stop feel burnt out and instead feel invigorated to try something new.

Final words

Creative burnout will not last forever. It is simply your body and mind telling you that it needs a little TLC. In the long run, you will be more productive if you take the time to refuel instead of running on fumes.

So, take the time to rest, to refill your creativity well. You and your dream deserve it.

--

--

Alyssa Mariko
The Brave Writer

Bibliophile, rock climber, dog lover, coffee consumer. Website: alyssamariko.com