How I Finally Obliterated My Three-Year Writer’s Block

Racing down the highway of creativity with no more obstacles on the road.

R. Paulo Delgado
The Brave Writer

--

Close-up of car side mirror, racing down the road, sun in the foreground, fantasy-style lighting
Photo licensed from Adobe Stock

Between 2013 and 2016 I published over a million words of fiction and wrote over thirty books. I received fan mail, garnered hundreds of five-star ratings and dozens of glowing reviews. I earned some money and was having a ball as a writer.

Then it all came crashing down.

The reasons for this were complex and involved. Part of it was that, despite my high wordage and good reviews, I felt like a failure as a writer. After writing so many books I really did expect to be living in a mansion in Malibu. Silly me.

Suddenly writing became hard. I mean, it became excruciatingly hard.

Not all the reviews were good, of course. There were plenty of bad ones, too. Those bad reviews ate away at me, some more than others.

And there were other reasons things got worse with my writing, too many to name here. But all that matters is this: Suddenly writing became hard. I mean, it became excruciatingly hard.

I started writing short stories in an effort to get my groove on as a writer again. Stephen King says in On Writing that that’s the way to do it —…

--

--

R. Paulo Delgado
The Brave Writer

✨ Book Marketing & Ghostwriting / Tech Writer / Coder / Bylines in Insider, Entrepreneur, nft now, Moneyweb, etc. 📰 / https://linktr.ee/rpaulodelgado