How Reading Leads to Writing

First steps on the path of becoming a great novelist

Regina Halmae
The Brave Writer
4 min readSep 6, 2020

--

Image by Comfreak from Pixabay

I consider myself the biggest bookworm among my acquaintances. This year alone I’ve read over twenty books written in different languages. Even if some books are not exactly for me or do not pique my interest, I still read them because this way I’m learning what to do and what not to do in my own writing.

Reading is a big part of my life, but so is writing. I believe that without reading a book first it’s almost impossible to start writing something. In my opinion whoever does not like to read is rarely interested in writing themselves. Reading, whatever genre, has so many perks along the road of becoming a good or a great writer. Let me share some of my ideas:

Reading helps develop and boost your imagination

It doesn’t matter whether you read a sci-fi book or a romance novel, a few paragraphs in and your brain starts creating certain images of the characters and scenery. You try to imagine what the characters look like, what are they wearing, and so on. You really get to know them. As a reader you can choose whether you like the characters the writer created or you don’t. Are you team Jacob or team Edward? Do you support Anastasia Steele or Christian Grey?

Books are slow-paced, characters learn and grow right in front of you. You have time to adapt yourself and go along with their journey. And you have an excellent opportunity to notice how the author describes the characters, what words are used, how detailed is the scenery. In how many different words could one situation be described? Almost every book by a bestselling author is a textbook for a new writer.

Learning to write by example

Learning by example is a well-known strategy used with kids to help them understand new things. But it also works with adults. Whenever you’re about to learn something new, you’ll probably research it first. This goes for writing as well. If you want to be a writer, you don’t just read an article or a book. You have to learn how to analyze each text. You’ll also have to determine whether the piece is of quality or rubbish.

As a writer, you need to see the words and sentence structure in order to learn and develop. The written word is elaborative, it explains the situation and the characters in great detail. It has to send a message, or explain what is happening. If you choose to learn from another author’s work (never copy!), read each paragraph with care, notice how each word and each sentence has a reason to be there. You might even take it a step further and try to think about how you could improve the book that’s already a bestseller. Reading books from different authors, genres, time periods, languages, and so on will eventually give you an idea of how to write your own.

Every great author was once a beginner

Not every writer is born with natural linguistic skills. Some writers are excellent without much effort, while others have to work really hard to achieve their writing goals. A new writer has to set realistic goals. I’m sorry to tell you this but your very first novel will probably never make it. Being “the first novel” could be the highest title it will ever get. But there are also a lot of exceptions!

What distinguishes a skilled writer from a new one is the use of language. Expert writers tend to use a complex language because their vocabulary is advanced, and they have their writing experience. But even today’s experts were newbies at some point. Believe it or not even Jane Austen was a novice writer before she became great.

Quantity is the fundamental of quality

The more you read, the better you write. It really is that simple. Five years ago I didn’t even know that I would want to become a writer one day. But as I read other authors’ work I started getting ideas of my own. At some point I started writing down my ideas. Then my ideas turned into sentences. Sentences that were said by certain characters. The characters needed to be described and their life choices explained. So simple sentences turned into paragraphs, and paragraphs soon expanded into chapters and so on.

I’m not a successful writer, at least not yet. But I have entered two of my novels in a writing competition. Plus, I sold one book as a ghostwriter. I have lots of articles here on Medium and many novel ideas in my notebook. I have two romance novels that I’m currently working on. I read as much as I can, and try to balance it with my writing. I’m not trying to strike anyone with quantity, but all of my writings are small steps in becoming a skilled writer. Maybe I’ll make it as a writer one day, maybe not. But at least I can tell everyone that I got my skills by reading and learning, tried my best and never gave up.

“If a book is well written, I always find it too short.” — Jane Austen

--

--

Regina Halmae
The Brave Writer

Early Years Educator, MA. Full-time mother, professional teacher and spare time writer. Topics: Family, Education, Relationships, Self-help, Writing, and more.