How to Develop Realistic Characters In Your Writing

Four ways to dive deeper into character creation.

Shannon Owings
The Brave Writer

--

Writing quality characters is a beautiful medley of psychology and creative voice. Readers want entertainment, but they also wish to read about characters who resonate with them.

Each character should be like a real person. Their thoughts and actions need to make sense. The more realistic you can make a character, the better able your audience is to connect and understand the emotions and reasons behind choices and interactions throughout the story. Consistency is key.

Nothing bothers me more as a reader than diving into a book that is full of characters whose every whim seems senseless, completely random, and inconsistent.

When I am reading, I want characters with depth and substance. I don’t want to be distracted by haphazard creations that are doing one thing when it seems like they should be doing another. Don’t pull me out of enjoying a story. Instead, reel me in.

So how, as writers, do we develop characters that feel real and consistent?

It depends on how well we develop their internal worlds.

Personal history or background

--

--

Shannon Owings
The Brave Writer

I am a freelance blogger and editor who writes on psychology, sociology, the future, and writing. Connect with me at shannon.owings.canada@gmail.com