How to Get More People to Read Your Work on Medium

Try writing about these 6 things

Brooklyn Reece
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

When I first joined Medium, I wanted to do everything I could to find success for my writing. I wanted people to read it, enjoy it, and want more. I wanted people to feel something when they read it, comment something, share it with others. I wanted to write things that people were excited about and interested in.

During my first month here, luckily, I was guided by a variety of authors and publications who pointed me in the right direction for my work — giving me tips, helping me understand what the curators were looking for, and sharing their own stories of how they found success on this beautiful platform.

The only problem? I had no idea what to write about.

In all of the advice that had been shared by people, no one seemed to talk about what exactly to write about. They talked about how to write. They talked about writing style and vocabulary and grammar. They talked about using appropriate tags. But no one tackled the question of writing topics. What tends to get the most views? What do you need to write about to become noticed as an author on Medium?

During my few months here, I’ve been very observant about both what I write and what I read. What do my curated stories tend to have in common? When…

--

--

Brooklyn Reece
The Brave Writer

(she/her) Writer. Teacher. Leftist. City enthusiast. Spreading love through words. Find me on IG @brooklynxreece or email me: brooklynreece.writer@gmail.com.