How to Open and Edit Your Obsidian Notes on Multiple Devices

Obsidian is a writer’s text editor based on markdown files for longevity and easy accessibility

Brooke Harrison
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Milena Trifonova on Unsplash

I was the kid who always carried a pen and paper with me wherever I went. As a writer, I needed to be prepared for inspiration to strike, and I hoarded notebooks like a squirrel in winter.

Even now, I have a thousand Word files, shared Google Docs, and iPhone notes. Sound familiar? The trouble is, it’s infinitely more difficult to find and reference ideas later.

That’s the reason I began searching for a simple but flexible note-taking app that would allow me to (1) keep notes and ideas in one place, (2) easily “search” for files, and (3) connect ideas to build a knowledge base.

I stumbled across Obsidian earlier this year, a note-taking app that emerged on the scene to rival popular text editors like The Archive, Evernote, and Roam Research (but without the price tag!). Obsidian wants to be your “second brain” and allows you to connect ideas with internal hyperlinks.

Obsidian has transformed the way I collect ideas and take notes, so I created a beginner’s guide to using the program. Recently, a fellow note-taker downloaded the guide and emailed me with a fantastic question…

--

--

Brooke Harrison
The Brave Writer

Writer & Entrepreneur. I write to process and share what I’m learning :) How to take notes in Obsidian (free guide!): https://brooke-harrison.ck.page/2521a68501