How To Write a Candid Story

If you’re trying to be someone else, you’re doing it wrong.

Katharine Chan
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Why keep it real?

Authenticity, candour, real talk 100%…this is what readers value when they consume a story.

They don’t want fluff. They don’t want to be talked down to. They don’t want posers. They’re too smart for that. They know when you’re faking it. They can read between the lines of posturing.

How can you get down to earth through your words so that a stranger feels like they know you without ever meeting you?

I value authenticity and detest hypocrisy

I started writing at the age of 6. Like many other writers, it was a means of therapy to help make those irrational thoughts into rational sentences.

My writing journey has taken its fair share of detours before landing as my passion. From publishing scientific research papers, and healthcare books to composing project charters, lengthy government documents and arduous reports, it wasn’t until the summer of 2017 that I wrote my first blog post.

I finally had a creative space to be myself. I could write what I wanted to without rules or having to pass it through multiple working groups and committees where the final product was so…

--

--

Katharine Chan
The Brave Writer

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books