Stop Judging Your Unpublished Drafts

Let your audience be the judge

Boateng Sekyere
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by David Klein on Unsplash

We all do it to one degree or another. I have heard of how people simply hit “CTRL + A”, then “Delete”. I can’t speak for everyone, and I don’t claim to know why people do that. My guess is we’re aiming for perfection. Our pieces have to be perfect. For the established writers who expect some standards of themselves, I respect that decision.

Readers love quality work, and they will keep coming back for more. But I have come to realize that until the final piece is out there, you can never accurately determine how well it will resonate with your audience. That is why you don’t have to kill the draft before it sees the light of day.

I often hear Gary Vee urge his followers to ignore the insecurity and keep pushing our work out there. I now understand why he says that. Instead of being crushed by perfection, be willing to be wrong. Or even raw. I have read about posts that were not the best-written becoming huge successes. Even more successful than the seemingly well-crafted ones.

You see, whether it is a book, an article, an op-ed, or a blog post, there is almost always a better judge than you the writer. A more objective judge, I might add. Your audience. Yes, the readers. They give you props if your work is great. They choose to clap for the piece, share…

--

--

Boateng Sekyere
The Brave Writer

Writer | Photographer in Accra. Grab my free guide on how to write more engaging articles here: https://bit.ly/writ-guide. Say hi at boatengwrites@outlook.com