The Complete Guide to Improving Your Writing Skills as a Nonnative English Speaker

Tips, tools, and best practices to become pro

Sadia Maqsood
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

I’m a non-native English speaker. My complete schooling happened in my native country. I grew up in a family where everybody spoke my native language. But today, I’m a professional writer. I’ve won international essay writing competitions in school, been published in an anthology and top Medium publications, and make side money as a freelance writer.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because I want you to know that I haven’t had any advantage over other non-native English speakers. I’m completely self-taught. I honed my English writing skills over the years using just a few tips and tools. In this article, I’ll show you what they are and how you too can improve your writing skills no matter what your background.

Read a lot

This goes without saying. All writers are readers first. If you want to become a professional writer, there’s no alternative to reading. It’s a must.

“Reading makes a full man, conference a ready man, and writing an exact man.” — Francis Bacon

But do you just pick any book and start reading? The answer is no. To become a writer, you need to read systematically and carefully. You…

--

--

Sadia Maqsood
The Brave Writer

Writing about productivity, mindset, and creativity tips for writers & content creators. Reach out: sadiamwrites@gmail.com