The Unexpected Writing Perks of Walking Away

What comes tomorrow might be even better than today.

Jennifer Osborne
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Toni Koraza on Unsplash

Some days are more challenging than others. We all have them. Life gets in the way, and we have more on our minds than writing, editing, or brainstorming our next amazing work of art (or dreams of it).

After spending a day moping around my house due to a running injury, I planted myself in front of my laptop to complete my daily writing.

I looked through past story ideas. I cruised through some favorite blogs for inspiration. For the first time in several months, I had nothing to say.

I closed my laptop in frustration and decided to embrace my negative headspace. I walked away for the night and gave myself permission to take a break.

Walking away did not cast me into an abyss of writing failure. It did the opposite. The next day I had more energy, better ideas, and a renewed sense of purpose.

Taking a Break Provides the Next Day’s Fuel

When I take a writing break, even for just a day or two, I approach the next writing practice with more energy and dedication. I have rested my mind for a bit, and now I am ready to go.

--

--