What I Learned Writing an 80,000-word Horror Novel in 4 Weeks

Write your story today.

Joe
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Dimitri Houtteman on Unsplash

I had never written a horror novel before.

I had written mystery, fantasy, even romance… never horror.

Odd, considering one of my favourite genres is horror. Pick any point in my history from a teenager and you’ll find me going through a Stephen King novel.

For transparency, I was searching for an idea in order to compete in the Amazon Kindle UK Storyteller competition. This was at the end of May while still quarantined and cooped up.

The idea hit me. As many people do, searching through Zillow and Zoopla, daring to dream of houses that cost millions. I found the one. That’s where it started.

The Idea

I’d found a huge manor house located close by to where I live in England. In a small area between the two counties of Lancashire and Cumbria. I live in Lancashire, for context on how close I was.

I wrote every single idea I had in scribbles on paper, all before my OCD brain kicked in and I had to handwrite them again, but neater. All before transferring them into a word document, all 4,000 words.

--

--

Joe
The Brave Writer

British Author | Blogging: Writing, Publishing, and Marketing | 10+ Years Experience