Writers Who Don’t Finish What They Start Need Accountability

Accountability helps you get past whatever is preventing you from finishing

Christine Schoenwald
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Ridham Nagralawala on Unsplash

Do you always finish a project before you start another one, or do you get bored or distracted halfway through and abandon it like me?

I’ve been a non-finisher since grade school. I’d get a genius idea I couldn’t wait to work on and start with a bang. The problem was I’d get bored with it early on and lose any enthusiasm I had.

In the corner of my parent's garage was a shrine to all my half-finished projects.

Procrastination and not-finishing feed into each other.

If you are a non-finisher, once that task has gotten stale, and you’re not feeling it, it would take a miracle for you to go back and finish it.

Let’s say you’re writing a long-form essay, and it’s going well. You’re inspired — the writing feels effortless and fun. But you’re only human; you need things like food and sleep. You take a break and promise yourself you’ll come back to it with the same energy.

However, the next time you sit down at your computer, you’re not feeling the same way you did before. This time, the writing is hard work, and you barely write a paragraph before you stop.

--

--

Christine Schoenwald
The Brave Writer

Writer for The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Next Avenue, Business Insider, and Your Tango Christineschoenwaldwriter.com