Your Reasons For Writing Are As Important As Anyone Else’s

Write for your reasons, not the ‘right’ reasons

Tom Stevenson
The Brave Writer

--

Photo by Art Lasovsky on Unsplash

Why do you write? It’s a question often asked of writers and even by writers to other writers.

One reason is we assume one must have a reason for doing everything. We work to put a roof over our heads and provide for our family. We watch TV to relax after a hard day or write to express our feelings and share our thoughts with the world.

Most writers have a reason for why they write. But if you were to ask those same writers for the reason they write, you’d get a range of different answers. Some would range from expected reasons for writing, while others would be more obscure and personal to the writer.

Writing can be a rollercoaster. I love writing, I can’t ever imagine myself not writing. But there are times when I question whether why I do it.

What I don’t question is my reason for writing. Nor, do I question why others write about what they do. It’s amazing I even have to write these words, but there’s a multitude of reasons why people write, almost all of them valid.

Unless you plan on writing a follow-up to Mein Kampf, your reasons for writing are on point. The beauty of life is the diversity of people and opinions. This is what makes…

--

--