It’s Time to Listen to Young People and Protect Abortion Access

The Brazen Project
The Brazen Project
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2022

--

[Testimony delivered to the Colorado House Health & Insurance Committee by Daizha Brown (she/her)]

My name is Daizha Brown, representing myself. I am 21 years old and graduated from Colorado State University with a degree in Political Science. I am here today to offer my testimony in hopes that you all, as representatives of the masses, can support the Reproductive Health Equity Act. As a young adult, this bill is necessary to ensure that all peoples personal agency over their bodies, their temples, are protected unconditionally and without government interference.

During my time in college, I worked as a campus organizer for the Brazen Project, a group on campus who advocated boldly and without shame to end abortion stigma through storytelling and educating. On a weekly basis, I spoke with people who had abortions to understand their stories and discuss the need for equitable and accessible reproductive healthcare. I remember hearing countless stories of these individuals being judged, disowned by family & friends or even considering harming themselves because of the constant ridicule they received for making a decision that was best for them and their particular circumstances. And unfortunately, I was once that person who judged and made assumptions about people who chose to have abortions too. I was only ignorant and unaware of other people’s realities. It wasn’t until I learned that many of the women closest to me had to make that decision in secrecy and without support that I then realized the importance of giving folks the choice to make the decision for themselves.

1 in 4 women will have an abortion and more than that will face the choice of whether to give birth or not. People deserve to make that choice for themselves. Honestly, the reality of it all is that even if abortion rights are jeopardized or criminalized, people will still need them. Our state should protect people’s decisions concerning their bodies and assure that there are safe and accessible healthcare services available to them. And people in Colorado agree, especially young people, as they have time and time again shown up in support of access to abortion. It’s time that we now listen and take action.

I think it is imperative that these individuals have the support of the state legislature to back them in any decision they make concerning the autonomy of their own bodies. For that reason, I’m asking that you ensure that those who have had abortions and those who will have abortions feel supported in the decision that is in their best interest for their lives by voting YES on HB1279.

--

--

The Brazen Project
The Brazen Project

A Colorado-based, youth-led initiative dedicated to ending abortion stigma and empowering our peers to speak up and speak out about abortion.