Stop Sending “Love and Light” Until You Know What You’re Talking About

We need to learn about the appropriate times for “love and light” medicine

G. M. Michele
The Break Down Wake Up Journal

--

Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

There’s a disturbing trend in the new age spirituality circles. When we feel sad, bad, or mad, we send “love and light” to people as a prayer and remedy. People usually say this to offer a way through the darkness of whatever situation a person is in. And it’s a nice gesture and can help to clear away the clouds, so to speak.

But not all moments are appropriate for this. Also, we should know what we’re really talking about when we say this. “Love and light” is beautiful medicine, and we really do need more of it right now. But as with all medicine, if we don’t take or use it properly, it can actually cause harm.

Let me explain where I’m coming from. A few years back, someone told me to put “love and light” on my pain. I had been deep in the middle of a breakdown and couldn’t see my way out of it. Looking back, things were stirring up and needing to surface. But I just couldn’t see it all yet. I was a train wreck and could barely understand myself from one minute to the next.

This person, noticing my pain, told me not to focus on it, rather, I should put prayers of “love and light” around me and all would be well. She might’ve…

--

--

G. M. Michele
The Break Down Wake Up Journal

Writer, traveler, and photographer. Canadian living in Colombia. Moved by magic, daily life, and the beautiful and heartbreaking balance of dark versus light.