The Steps I Took to Quit my Job and Run to the Jungle

I get asked about this a lot…

Gillian May
The Break Down Wake Up Journal

--

Writers personal photo

I recently wrote a story about a breakdown I had years ago that led me to quit my job, pack up and take off to Mexico. A few people wrote to me wanting to know the steps I took to make this change.

Back then, I remember wishing that I could read about someone else’s experience, just to get a guiding light.

I wondered if there were others out there who had done what I needed to do. But I found no one. So, if I can give that guiding light to someone else now, it would be my honor. But know that my process was unique to me and would be hard to replicate.

I made this drastic change because I was desperate, ill, and on the edge of suicide.

I just couldn’t find any other way to go on. I felt guided by something bigger than me, and I thought that this was the only way to stay on the planet. It wasn’t fun, and it required many sacrifices.

I don’t regret any of it nor do I wish it on anyone else. However, I think if life calls you to change; it is a brave and beautiful move if you decide to follow that call.

--

--

Gillian May
The Break Down Wake Up Journal

Former nurse turned alcohol & health writer/researcher. I teach people about alcohol addiction, trauma, mental health. Join my Substack: https://bit.ly/3PuVhXJ