How we started The Breakaway (Part 2 of 2)

Jordan Kobert
The Breakaway
Published in
2 min readJul 24, 2023

So there I was. Locked in my home in Truckee, with an itch to scratch and nothing but time…

It’s remarkable to look back at spring and summer of 2020. I wrote down some thoughts and memories that year, and looking back at the early days of COVID is such a shock still.

But I don’t sit still well. So I called some friends and former colleagues, some former Strava friends and people like Christian Vande Velde, and my eventual co-founder, Kyle Yugawa. And we started scheming. From ideas to talks to Figma sketches it became clear we needed to see what could be built. Beyond our desire, and our fascination with the problem, we saw, and continue to see, a real opportunity to answer the age old question every athlete who cares about performance asks themselves:

What should I do today?

That was, and continues to be our North Star. How can we simply answer that question, day in and day out, and help people find their path towards peak performance.

Christian and I know from our racing days, how good it feels when you find those moments. You truly Break Away from yourself, from your limits, from your notions of what’s possible. It’s magic.

Kyle and I know from our Strava days, that when you can bring technology to what people already do, and want to do, that there’s magic in that combination and you can have a real impact. A great workout solves a bad day every time. Every. Time.

So here we are, almost 3 years later, and while we’ve come a long way, I feel like we’ve only scratched the surface. I can’t wait for what we have coming this summer, this fall, next year, and in the years ahead.

Progress is fun. Getting better is fun. Feeling fast is fun. The right moments, the right advice, the right effort on the right day, can make the difference. We love helping people discover how simple this can be. We’re all so much stronger than we think.

Game on.

--

--

Jordan Kobert
The Breakaway

Bikes. Boards. Bits. Blankets. Beer. Bourbon & My Babes. Late-blooming feminist. I'll ride anything with two wheels and a saddle.