What is The Breakaway?

Jordan Kobert
The Breakaway
Published in
2 min readJul 24, 2023

What a Tour de France! I’ve grown up watching this sport, and it’s become such a part of my life. Our family motto tends to be ‘It’s all about the bike’. My best friends, my best moments…I met my wife on the bike and today my favorite moments are rides with her or one of my daughters. It’s all about the bike.

And then to watch Christian on the back of the moto completely change the dynamic of race coverage. What a Tour! But the term ‘breakaway’ came up so much and my young daughter’s eyes lit up every time as they looked at me. “No honey, not The Breakaway, the breakaway in the race.” It did however get me thinking of our genesis, and why The Breakaway is so important to me, our team, and our customers.

In a bicycle race, ‘the breakaway’ is a rider or group of riders who accelerate ahead of the pack in the pursuit of glory. Sometimes they win, sometimes the pack catches them. But there’s always a moment in The Breakaway, when there’s a chance. A moment when there is hope, belief, wonderment at what could be…

We started The Breakaway to help more people find their personal moments of glory, more often. We started The Breakaway so that we could all have more hope, more moments of belief, and more glory.

The Breakaway exists to help you find your pursuit of glory.

It’s your moment.

It’s your time to believe. To awe. To realize you’re stronger than you think.

It’s your time…

To Breakaway from the norms.

To Breakaway from the pressure of the schedule, leaderboards and day to day, minute to minute buzzing to capture your moment of glory.

To Breakaway from confusion, training plans, too much data, too many apps and too many voices.

Breakaway for the best hour of the day.

Breakaway to find your flow.

Breakaway to seek out your pain cave.

Breakaway to build your strength.

Breakaway to improve your weaknesses.

Breakaway from your limits.

Breakaway from your fears, your anger, your stress and your worries. Just get on your bike, know what to do, and find your moment to Breakaway.

That’s what we all seek.

A moment to Breakaway.

Those moments of glory. The pain, the success, the speed, the sweat, the flow.

That’s our moment.

That’s when we truly are in The Breakaway.

--

--

Jordan Kobert
The Breakaway

Bikes. Boards. Bits. Blankets. Beer. Bourbon & My Babes. Late-blooming feminist. I'll ride anything with two wheels and a saddle.