The story when I worked for a start-up company, LOGIVAN 🚚🚚🚚

Tung C.Nguyen
TheBreakeven
Published in
3 min readFeb 29, 2020

Today marked my last day at LOGIVAN. There are some kinds of words I feel honestly and want to share about this journey: grateful, grateful and grateful. After 8 months of working as a Finance team member, I believe I have acquired a significant level of corporate finance knowledge and collaboration skills; and it is really exciting when I can create solutions to make the work done in a more effective way. Moreover, it is the chance I could meet brilliant teammates who have given dozens of insightful advice and together made my remarkable memories.

My beloved team’s party

If you do not know LOGIVAN, the company is extremely exciting with a proven business model that utilizing technology to improve the efficiency of operation in the trucking landscape. This venture is expanding impressively β€” 10 times growth in terms of the gross transaction value after only 1 year of running.

Having joined LOGIVAN as a Finance Analyst intern in June 2019, I remember I was still confused with my career path. Although my background is Accounting, Auditing, and Finance, I have not founded a specific landing job plan in the finance area at that time. Coming to the office with all-and-only fresh things, I started to ask many questions as much as possible regarding corporate finance, the nature of financial statements, the core operation model, the company structure, and a lot of administrative procedures πŸ˜…

Now I would like to tell you about 3 fortunate things that contribute to my great experience at LOGIVAN:

Fortunately #1, I have been allocated for many interesting projects. Those ones are also diversified too, from controlling gross margin (GP), building a framework to allocate G&A expenses to departments, credit assessment to optimize account receivables period, cash flows management, installing a new system & process and full of corporate finance kinds of stuff. I was excited to generate ideas and deliver them, was hands-on and eager to learn new things.

Takeaway #1: Come to a challenging team, where you can expose to an increasing number of interesting projects which help you a lot to build your first steps.

Fortunately #2, I would fall in love with numbers and analysis. Finance is the meaning of numbers illustrated following a particular concept or framework. I am enthusiastic about finding the concept/ the big picture/ the big question/ the main objective first hence presenting the correlation between numbers/ items effectively to show which are the potential areas should be improved. Learning this lesson from my manager, I can do my analysis and report more efficiently.

Takeaway #2: Do something you clarify that you are confident in that area. If so, you will have more motivation to deep dive into and gradually found your core strengths.

Fortunately #3, my colleagues I had the chances to work with are brilliant, open-minded and willing to share. Fortunately again, I had the chance to work with C-levels from CFO, COO, CSO to CEO who constantly challenge me about the logic behind my findings and give me feedback/ appreciation when I get something done. Especially, our team, Finance has come through a lot of tough times during the last 6 months, from correcting vastly the last year general ledger, upgrading new accounting systems to managing account receivables in a long-receivables-period industry of logistics. Our team is going to be invulnerable that came from our effective communication and well-established roles model lead by my CFO.

Takeaway #3: Great leaders will produce the next leaders, be proactive to receive their advice. If your boss and colleagues are strong in leadership and collaboration, you will be easier to learn and contribute more even when you are fresh. Teamwork can leverage your achievements.

Now, at the moment, thinking about memories, projects, and outcomes, I feel happy and even proud of myself that I did some good impression; but the most important thing here is the people, teammates, mentors.

Leave your comment below. Happy to listen to your idea!

--

--