I’m Not Dead Yet!

Brian Emory
Brian Emory | Web Developer
2 min readSep 15, 2016

I Feel Haappyyy

I love Monty Python and the Holy Grail. One of my many favorite scenes is this clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uBxMPqxJGqI. It is the olden days, and a guy is pushing around a cart to collect the dead to get them out of the city. Another guy walks up, old man slung over his shoulder, to put the old man on the cart.

Guy: Here’s one.
Old Man: I’m not dead.
Dead Collector: What?
Guy: Nothing. [hands the collector his money] There’s your nine pence.
Old Man: I’m not dead!
Dead Collector: ‘Ere, he says he’s not dead.
Guy: Yes he is.
Old Man: I’m not.
Dead Collector: He isn’t.
Guy: Well, he will be soon, he’s very ill.
Old Man: I’m getting better.
Guy: No you’re not, you’ll be stone dead in a moment.
Old Man: I don’t want to go on the cart.
Guy: Oh, don’t be such a baby.
Old Man: I feel fine.
Old Man: I think I’ll go for a walk.
Guy: You’re not fooling anyone, you know.
Old Man: I feel happy. I feel happy.

Kind of feels like life sometimes. Trying to pass you off as dead and done. Keeping you busy doing terribly uninteresting things so you do not feel like you are living at all. You get bogged down with the day to day missing out on the things that make you feel alive. Life is trying to throw you on that cart while a part of you deep inside is reminding you that you are not dead yet.

Continued Learning

After a busy few weeks, I am finally getting back to what I love: coding. I began learning Facebook’s ReactJS last night. I started going through the Fullstack React course and I am liking it so far. I have barely scratched the surface but it is looking like an excellent resource for learning React.

A couple of weeks ago I found some time to start learning React through Codecademy. React seems like one of those things that I may really enjoy. I will probably finish up the Codecademy stuff when I am done with Fullstack React just for completions sake. After learning and using Angular, React is a welcome change.

I will be writing about React as I am learning and look forward to sharing the projects I build.

Graduate of Flatiron School’s Full Stack Web Developer Program. Follow me on Twitter @thebrianemory. Follow me here, click the green heart to show some love, leave a comment, and get in touch!

--

--

Brian Emory
Brian Emory | Web Developer

Backend Software Engineer (Ruby/Elixir). Giraffe-like qualities. I enjoy video games, bad movies, hard ciders, and pizza.