Lucemy Perez
The Bronx Magazine
Published in
1 min readApr 26, 2018

--

Little Girl Black- Songs of Leaving and Letting Go That the High Priestess Taught Me (Pt. 1)

“A Mo(u)rning Song”

The sun rises in the east

As do I

Amidst a fog

I am hazy and entranced, yet somehow

I am lost and afraid in a land unfamiliar to me

And the birds chirp and sing

A song of longing

It is the morning song

Filled with sorrowful swinging and sweet chiming

Yet if the clouds were to open above

And release the tears of a thousand broken hearts

The birds would be drowned out and I’d be there

Tomorrow

If only the sun rose in the west

As do you

On a clear, translucent day

Full of purpose and certainty

I am lost and afraid, you are a land no longer familiar to me.

“A (Good)bye Song”

Bathe me in a song of pain

Bury me in a shroud of water lilies and white roses

Consummate this passing with a kiss to the cheek

And a hug, farewell

Open casket style

It’s an oak, rich and smooth and strong

Rooted in the feelings that I have for you, no longer am I unavailable

Do not tell me to be safe and be well if you can’t be here anymore

If you cannot resurrect me. Resurrect me.

--

--

Lucemy Perez
The Bronx Magazine

afro-latine living and loving in NYC + CT // writer, student, artist // (they/them)