Do Men Listen?

The Brooklyn Ink
The Brooklyn Ink
Published in
3 min readSep 25, 2018

We asked women in Brooklyn. Here’s what they had to say.

Madison Creese

“I’ve noticed with a lot of my girlfriends who have bigger breasts, it’s like [men] are just looking there. It’s like ‘Okay, I’m not really an object. I would like to talk to you.’ But that’s not all men. It’s only some.”

Madison Creese

Jess McAvoy

“If [I] go to a traditionally male-dominated field, I notice how much I try to qualify myself in those conversations.”

Jess McAvoy

Maria Apolonio

“He’s one of my closest friends and also the guy inside. They do listen to me more than my dad does, which is kind of sad.”

Maria Apolonio

Zae’Lyn Simone

“I am tired of being unheard.”

Zae’Lyn Simone

Gabby Easley

“I think that it’s very imperative for women to get a little bit more respect.”

Gabby Easley

Nina Singh

“Compared to India, the disrespect I face as a woman in America is nothing.”

Nina Singh

Taylor Steward

“Even with my job, I have said the exact same thing to men passing by and not gotten the same result as the men I’m working with [do] the same day and with the same person.”

Taylor Steward

Xuhua Liu

“All the men I know are mostly Taiwanese and they are not really focused on this movement, so they don’t really care.”

Xuhua Liu

Carmel Bernardo

“Men in general, they don’t know how to listen, because they don’t know how to communicate…Instead of listening to understand, they listen to respond.”

Carmel Bernardo

With reporting by Jeevika Verma, Blake Rallings, Yuan Yuan, Sabrina He, Sachi McClendon, Andrea Salcedo, Jordan Julian, Giulia McDonnell Nieto del Rio

--

--

The Brooklyn Ink
The Brooklyn Ink

News source covering the streets of #Brooklyn through the eyes of @ColumbiaJourn staff.