1:39 AM

Jay Delva
The Brospective
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2018

If you gave me 1 minute, I’d show you 60 different reasons why I deem you SPECIAL

Why you’re worth chasing for a lifetime even if I never get a MEDAL

Unsettling to think that you and I may NEVER settle

But I hold on to the thought that your feelings for me will eventually BLOSSOM like rose pedals

And the illustrious kiss that I so covet will be much more than a HALLUCINATION

But a dream come true surpassing my every EXPECTATION

But given our current situations

Both you and I are BOXED in

With a head over the shoulders like yours and the hair on your head, I’m LOCKED in

FOCUSED to see this thing through

Focused on EVENTUALLY being with you

Incapable of trusting as you are, my love for you has never swayed, that’s something you can TRUST

And if misery loves company, with you and I together, we’ll always go BANKRUPT

Finding HAPPINESS in each other,

And if love is blind as they say, how can I still SEE your beauty with both eyes closed

And since a woman is only as good as her BRAIN and not her parts, I yearn to mine your gold mind and strike GOLD

These other guys hate doing laundry, but they still might FOLD

And when my head is beneath your rivers drowning, it’s the only time I BITE flows

I suppose that if I compose a prose for every time YOU cross my mind

I’d expose boisterous flows that’ll become much too DANGEROUS to cross the tide

But I’m willing to RISK it all just to be with you

Because what do I honestly have, if it’s not YOU?

--

--