Lost in You

Jay Delva
The Brospective
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2019

I see through you

You are glass

Both thick and transparent

An open book that I briefly read

But never understood

One that I wanted to love but never could

I was So infatuated with the structure

That I failed to thoroughly analyze anything but the front cover

Seduced by physical attributes, lip biting was new to me

Knew it was more to you than that, but only if you knew what your lips did to me

Kisses moving me

Teenage love, enough sparks to start on a bonfire

Our love was on fire

Hoping I’m on your mind cause you’re on mine

Might be to late to say it but better to say it late if not on time

We lost connection, but surely you’ll see this posted online

I use to view love as if it were a business, but wouldn’t let you monopolize, i

You see I was poor if the currency of love is compromise, i

Sit and reminisce about yo body

I said to never follow me on social media, not because of you but cause I’m in position to lead nobody

Hope ya know shawty

It was my insecurities, I truly had to find myself

And with discovery comes many layers

Being that I’m with someone else means, I’m your unanswered prayers

But I can’t help but feel like I’m the one that missed out

Like I’m the one that lost you, when I let you go

Failing to realize the queen was the most powerful piece

Life is chess, I was playing uno

Solitaire

By myself

How could I find myself anywhere else when it’s in you

Searching for me when I left it back there with you

But now I see you with him

Imparting every piece of me in him

The possibility of a reunion is dead and shady, not even slim

But if I ever did decide to creep, just know that it would be with you

Under the trees

Sun setting on earth, but rising on our love

Cause I’ll probably never find me, unless I fall back in love with you

--

--