What Can I Offer?

Nelsen Constantin
The Brospective
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2019

Good girl at heart
I will always remember that
You were the star I would lay under all night without the fear of darkness
The last time I felt butterflies in my stomach
I was standing in front of you
I’d heard through the grapevine you’re talking to someone new
More like my cousin told me
But, needless to say, he said you looked happy
He said your smile was bigger than a child eating ice-cream for breakfast

Immediately I dust off my saddle and sped all the way to her house
Cold as I ever was, smooth and deliberate as she watches me engaged with insanity
I was tired of sleeping with the past
We’ve been broken up for years, yet, no one told me
Long after the dissolution of love you’ll long for her attachment
This must be what addiction feels like
I withdrew my emotions along time ago but the craving of your body
Still tingles the receptors of my tongue

She screams, “you didn't want to be love”
Truthfully, I was in love
Just never made it a choice
Like how I choose to skip laundry day
And in my hamper contained dirty words like commitment and tenderness
Over time, transactional dealing is Like waves that erodes sediments from cliffs
And Attachment is much harder to break than love
So I played hangman to your guessing games
Hoping I was the last cliff hanger

Often time it’s not love that keeps us together rather it is the attachment
I had no problem professing shit like,
“I can tell God took his time when he made you but i’ll take a little bit more to caress every inch of your frame”
But leave you hanging when you asked for a simple hug
I fancied words like soul mate for individuals breeding

she asks, what can I offer?
My stance got less bravado
My machismo was as good as words whispering to deaf ears during an incoming train
Deep down I knew my plan was flawed
I needed you for my selfishness with no desire to love
You deserve more than just an able body next to you

So…I have found her and indeed she was all I wished for and more
She’s not charmed by my lustrous desires
Nor intrigued by the lines she inspires
Thank you for the endless inspirations
Hope your heart never gets cold
From the changing of the weather

what can I offer you?
A chance to start with someone new

-Nel_Cn

--

--