Dawson’s Creek and That Troubling Storyline

mauludSADIQ
The Brothers
10 min readMar 26, 2021

--

A double standard that’s rarely addressed

Yes. Yes I watched Dawson’s Creek. Religiously. I got them storylines on lock. But I hadn’t thought about the show for eons. Ok. Maybe I did like five years ago, but outside of that. Nope.

Then, I was writing an article for Real Hip Hop and looking into licensing and read about how some shows lost their title songs. Dawson’s Creek was one of ’em. So I went to Netflix to see what exactly the new song was.

Next thing I know, I was four episodes in…and troubled.

How could this storyline exist in modern times and no one say anything about it? In the late 90s, sure. But in these hyper aware times? I checked the innerwebs to see if there was any outrage. Naw.

Naw?

But it makes sense, because the sexual abuse of young boys is seldom addressed or looked at with the same level of scrutiny (and disdain) as when it happens to girls. There’s been hundreds of cases of teachers sleeping with their students, and a recent television show about the same subject matter and yet…no outrage.

So let’s first take a trip back in time, look at the WB teen drama, a one of those cases, the most recent show, and keep it moving.

--

--

mauludSADIQ
The Brothers

b-boy, Hip-Hop Investigating, music lovin’ Muslim