An Open Letter To My 7 Beautiful Sunshines: BTS

Aeri
The BTS Effect
Published in
6 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

I have been your ARMY since 2014. I was young, confused, and lost. I was just starting to explore life back then. High school was very new to me.

My life before you was like a black-and-white world. Dull, lonely, and empty. But the moment I found you through your music, my life started to change, and I saw colors start to shine through.

I have never supported such a group before, so everything is still new to me but for some reason, I found myself empty no more. I feel so fulfilled, loved, and motivated.

Growing up with you is the most beautiful moment of my life.

During my darkest days, you were my salvation and only hope. You helped me escape, pushed me to become a better person, showed me how to love myself and to never give up.

You’ve given me the light; you saved me.

Through the years that I have been watching you grow from afar, I realized how you guys took the most special space in my heart.

I have seen how you guys work so hard; how you pour your everything into your music.

I felt your pain while you were being belittled by the world.

When we were still small, I cried with you during the hardest times.

I supported you when the world kept on putting you down. We hold on together as if we have nothing but each other.

And during that special moment — the moment where no one saw you coming, I was there with you; you bagged your first ever music show win.

I was there during your first daesang.

I was there when you started to get big.

Because we believed in each other, now look how far we have come.

And I can proudly say that up until today, I am still and will forever be with you.

Together, we were able to overcome everything.

Together, we are bulletproof. Forever.

I never knew I would find magic in you guys; it’s enchanting and very fascinating.

I have learned so many life lessons from you.

You helped me in finding me. You pushed me to become the better version of myself. You taught me how to view life in a different perspective and above all else, helped me realize the importance of loving oneself.

You guys are the hope that the world needed in human form.

The moment I decided to be by your side is the moment I found myself the happiest. All the time that I spend with you cannot be compared to anything in this world.

You are my eternal happiness.

Today, I realized just how much I love you and how much you mean the world to me.

You light up my darkest days like no one else.

I was just asking for one but heaven gave me seven.

You helped me see the true beauty that lies beyond the mediocrity of the world; seeing the things that matter the most and having the courage to let go of those who are not.

You taught me to keep on doing my best and let go of what happens after. You made me realize that the world does not end if things don’t go my way.

Without you, I can imagine myself stuck in the vast space of darkness, drowning alone and being eaten alive.

But I have you now.

I will always be proud of you and prouder that I am your ARMY; that I’ve seen you grow for years.

From rookie group that was belittled by the world

to worldwide sensation.

record-breakers or not
worldwide or not
big stadiums or not
daesangs or not
famous or not
happy or not
smooth path or not

Never forget that I am and will always be your ARMY.

The world may turn its back on you, but never will I. You will always have me. I am always willing to cheer you up to the last sound of my voice.

My love for you, BTS, has grown deeper and it’s beyond records, achievements, and awards.

Even in my next life, I will still choose you. I will hold your seven beautiful hands and never let them go.

Soon, everything will all become beautiful memories. Nonetheless, every moment that we shared is something that my heart will always remember.

I can’t emphasize enough how grateful I am for having you.

I hope one way or another, if destiny permits, this open letter will reach you and hopefully by then, you will feel how big and genuine my love is for you.

I love you, my seven sunshines. Thank you for being in this lifetime with me.

The BTS Effect publishes submissions from ARMY about how BTS has affected, inspired, or otherwise impacted their lives. If you’d like to submit a story, please click here for more information. This publication is part of TheBTSEffect.com.

--

--