BTS and Myself

Methmi Mandara
The BTS Effect
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2021

Bangtan Sonyeondan, also known as BTS, is the closest to me after my family. They changed my life. They encourage me when I am down. They motivate me. Now, they have become a part of my life. This is how it happened.

I was 12 years old. I used to browse YouTube as a hobby. I love to watch videos. Suddenly I saw a K-Pop band called BTS. I never knew about K-Pop before this, so I downloaded a video of them but did not pay much attention. However, my little brother loved the song and used to dance to it. Even I watched it while he was dancing to it. It was the music video for “DNA,” and I noticed the lovely boys in the video. From that day onwards, I watched the “Magic Shop” music video. Then day by day, I watched their music videos, live performances, and Run BTS episodes. Without even knowing it, I was becoming an ARMY. I really love the songs “Fake Love,” “I Need U,” “Blood Sweat & Tears,” “Anpanman,” “Make It Right,” and many more.

Time passed day by day. I was 13 years old. To tell the truth, I was a horrible girl. I was really stubborn with my parents and was an angry girl. I was very rude and stubborn with most people, even my whole family. My parents tried to change me, but they couldn’t. I didn’t care for their advice and did whatever I wanted. This happened for a long time. While I was watching BTS’s content, I watched a video about their life stories, their attitudes, and the message they give to ARMY. I decided that as an ARMY, I should be a good girl and love myself. I then became a nice girl with kindness. Even my mom and dad were happy and surprised.

Day by day, BTS became a part of my life. I listened to a lot of songs and I listened to their speeches. Once I watched a video about the heartbreaking history of BTS, and it made me cry. I haven’t cried for others before, but I did for the first time, for them. I was very sad when I saw the video about their lives before joining BTS. I became a very good, kind girl who loves everyone. Even my parents cannot believe my change, and they said that I have changed and became better because of BTS.

I started to LOVE MYSELF as they all said to LOVE YOURSELF. Not only that, I was interested in learning Korean because of them. From my favorite member, Taehyung, I learned to become a kind person and to love others. From Jin, I determined to make my mom and dad proud of me as he did. From Suga, I learned to chase my dreams. From Jungkook, I learned not to be shy and to perform wherever I can. From J-Hope I learned that no matter if anyone criticizes me, I will chase my dreams. From Jimin, I learned to make decisions which can impact your future and to ignore bad comments. From RM, I learned to love others, to be educated, and to fly to my target. The best thing they added to my life is the idea of being “bulletproof.’ I will continue as a good girl, a good ARMY, and I will continue loving and following BTS, who showed me the path to the light of world.

The BTS Effect publishes submissions from ARMY about how BTS has affected, inspired, or otherwise impacted their lives. If you’d like to submit a story, please click here for more information. This publication is part of TheBTSEffect.com.

--

--

Methmi Mandara
The BTS Effect

Hi! I love English Literature so much! If you are also the same, follow me for sure. Also I am a BTS ARMY. Poetry is also a part of my life. Hope you will enjoy