Untimely Death

Kassandra Ruiz
The Bucket List Journal
1 min readMay 13, 2021

May 12, 2021–4:26 PM

I currently sit shackled to a desk. The dreams I wanted are starting to fade. The pressures of society are chipping away at my idealized plans.

Fear is in the space between me and the door. If I don’t conform, will I wash away into a pointless being? One that struggles to survive. One that others look down on for not “succeeding.”

The countless talks of 401ks, cryptocurrencies, and the stock market stress me. I used to believe in living in the now but suddenly I ponder about the future. I am beginning to question the long-term effects of my actions.

But what’s the point?

Do we live for now or do we live for later? Do I start my retirement plan or do I run out this door to breathe the air in an unexpected world?

They say time is of the essence but we don’t act accordingly. The average human spends a third of their life working and another third sleeping. The rest may be aged away or cut short with an untimely death.

I’ve come to the realization that we really do only have one life.

What shall I make of mine?

--

--