A Digital Cleansing

Michael Buist
The Buist Babble
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2017

It’s time for me to get healthy. And here is step one.

Yep, I did delete my email app. Next up is to delete Facebook. I did manage to keep a number of apps. I can’t go completely cold turkey.

I’m keeping Edmodo because it’s probably the most effective way my students can contact me. They’re 6th graders so don’t meet the criteria for messaging on Remind. Some message me on Instagram, Snapchat, and by text. But with Edmodo, 100% of them have access to me.

For photo editing, I’m keeping Snapseed and VSCO. Snapseed because it’s a solid performer and VSCO because I just paid for the premium account.

I’m keeping Feedly, Medium, and Pocket for reading/saving/posting blogs.

I’m keeping social apps like Facebook Messenger, Instagram, Periscope, and Twitter. Snapchat, you’re up next on the chopping block. I’m waiting for their as-advertised mega UI update. If it doesn’t change the game, then Snap is gone.

While I’m keeping Voxer, I am leaving a number of chats. Right now it’s just too much noise and I can’t filter out what’s important. No disrespect to everyone in the chats. You are one of the reasons I strive to be the best professional I can be. I just need to clear my head. Similarly, I’m leaving the multitude of Facebook Groups I’m in. Once again, too much noise.

This digital cleansing is so much more than deleting unnecessary apps. But it sure does feel good to see this.

--

--

Michael Buist
The Buist Babble

Connector • Creator • Curator • Disruptor • Educator • Facilitator