Who’s down for a challenge, not a resolution, for the new year?

Michael Buist
The Buist Babble
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2019

I’m starting with two types of writing/blogging projects. First, for me I’m bringing back #eduheard. Started in 2014 by Jennifer Nusbaum, she challenged us to be better listeners.

I need to be a better listener to my students and my colleagues (and to my wife and children). Therefore, each day for 30 days I will write about something interesting I heard. The constraints? What I write must fit on graphic I create in Adobe Spark. This way I’m also enhancing my typography and design craft. I will post here, on Instagram and on Twitter.

Second, I’m resuscitating #edumoment. Based on a Facebook Messenger conversation with Krissy Venosdale exactly one year ago today, we discussed an iteration of #edugood. Like always, Krissy was quick to create and came up with “edumoment — enjoy, live, listen, learn.”

I need to be a better observer of all the special moments I experience as an educator. The constraints? One post a week for a minimum of four weeks and no more than 500 words per post. I will also add an original photograph that I’ve edited with several new-to-me iOS/macOS apps, once again enhancing my design craft. I’ll post these edumoments here and on Twitter.

So who’s with me? Perhaps these connections will hold all of us accountable for listening and observing and sharing. And learning!

--

--

Michael Buist
The Buist Babble

Connector • Creator • Curator • Disruptor • Educator • Facilitator