Renewal of My Commitment to The Burnt Woods Review as a Medium Publication

Gordon Davidescu
The Burnt Woods Review
2 min readJul 3, 2018

I tend to spread myself too thin. I do. The things that suffer from this are… well, all of my projects. Projects that should only take a few weeks to take care of end up taking several months, and those that should take perhaps a year (I am only right now in the final editing and preparation of a collection of short stories that I started working on in 2013) take significantly longer. There are exceptions to this, of course.

I started this Medium publication to accompany a weekly e-mail sent out to my Patreon subscribers. (Join that tiny crowd by clicking here!) I figured that people who donated to my Patreon page would get to see my writing first and then everyone else could see the same stuff at no cost right here in this Medium publication.

The problem is that instead of doing this, I just started writing to my subscribers every week and sending them fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and more… and basically never posting it here. If you will, I just kept forgetting to do it. I had and have a fairly set schedule for my e-mail and have had one for close to two years.

Now I want to make that same sort of commitment to you, people who find this publication on Medium.

Tomorrow is “Independence Day” in the United States and if you’ve just found this article, that probably no longer is the case.

Here’s what I’m going to do — at least twice a week I’m going to dig into the archives of my weekly e-mail and post something, be it fiction, non-fiction, or poetry. Of course, each piece will come with a bit of encouragement to join the weekly e-mail… and perhaps a pitch for you to get a copy of my latest book, whatever that may be.

It’s entirely possible that once a week I will also post an entirely new article that is only for this Medium publication that will be behind the Medium paywall. Those brown rice ramen bricks aren’t buying themselves, ya know!

Also here : My terrible drawing non-skills, for your viewing pleasure. (Probably the wrong word.)

Let’s do this!

--

--

Gordon Davidescu
The Burnt Woods Review

Born in Perth Amboy, New Jersey, Gordon lives in Kew Gardens with his wife and two children (and an adorable cat called Loki.) He loves to write!