Photo by Cara Fuller on Unsplash

Give yourself a Solitude Saturday

--

As the sun rose and peeked in through my window, I allowed myself a nice long stretch before leisurely rolling out of bed. It was a chilly 31 degrees in Boston, but the sun was up and the four-day-old snow glistened beneath the morning light.

That fine weekend in December, I decided to give myself a “Solitude Saturday.” It was a full day, by myself, for myself.

As humans, we’re social creatures. Having friends, roommates, co-workers, and family around is absolutely wonderful.

But there’s something to be said for solitude.

When is the last time you spent time by yourself, just to spend time with yourself?

That’s an important question to ask yourself, and one that stuck in my head before planning to have this full day of solitude.

Friends want to hang out? Nope. Catch up on work? Nada. Grocery shopping? That’s what Sunday’s for!

My first instinct was to plan my day to be an organized affair. Then, I paused, asked myself what I wanted out of the day, and decided against organizing it at all. I’m so glad I did.

There are a couple of important rules for a successful solitude Saturday:

  • No to-do lists.

--

--

Saalik Lokhandwala
The Business of Being Happy and Healthy

Seeker of adventure, lover of ideas, lifetime learner. Writes and reads about tech startups, mindfulness, and fantastical worlds.