The First Time I Met Darren Rovell

Kyle Bunch
The Business of $port
1 min readAug 27, 2016

It was December 2005. USC was gearing up to face Texas in the BCS Championship and my friend Rory and I were hustling to try and capitalize on the interest by selling ads and merch from our (now mostly defunct 😢) USC sports blog, TrojanWire.

And then we got an email from an unexpected source. But I’ll let my man D-Rovell tell the rest of the story:

It’s a funny thing when a camera crew comes to your dumpy apartment and tries to find somewhere to set up. In case you couldn’t tell, that backdrop was a t-shirt draped over a computer monitor. All class in my 20’s, I tell you.

So that it, that’s how I first met Darren Rovell. He went on to be a good friend of Team BWB and we gave him a muppet:

--

--

Kyle Bunch
The Business of $port

Strategy at @RGA // Co-founded @blogswithballs. Obsessed with all things culture, technology and sport.