4 Awesome Metronome Apps to Get Your Rhythm In Check

Jonathan Stewart
The Busy Guitarist
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2018

Metronomes aren’t the most popular tool in a guitarists kit however they help keep you in time when you’re practicing especially when you’re using more complicated rhythmic patterns (such as triplets). Here are a few that I’ve got (or had) installed on my mobile!

Smart Click Metronome

An iOS only app, which although simple has some pretty cool features. It’s accurate and just does its job. It also can turn off or change the sound of each click. So you can make it as easy or complicated as you’d like and if you change the time signature you can do the 8th or 16th note lengths as well as the above app.

Metronome (by Soundbrenner)

This app is a companion to the awesome Soundbrenner pulse, however it’s a fantastic tool on it’s own it has features coming out of it’s ears! It can do a huge number of subdivisions ranging from the usual 1/8, 1/16 to more obscure rhythms such as dotted rhythms and triplets! It’s pretty cool and the variety of sounds and setting means you can get it to sound like anything. It’s also available for both Android & iOs

Tabs (by Ultimate Guitar)

Although not strictly just a metronome app it does have it’s own metronome. It is one I used for ages and it clicks at 1/4 1/8 1/16 and triplet lengths. Although not quite as detailed as Soundbrenners it’s still one that I loved! However, this is a paid app (or you can subscribe to Ultimate Guitar Pro) and get it included. :)

Guitar Tuna (Metronome Section)

An app from the guys at Yousician. This one is a new download for me, and although I do enjoy their tuner I find their metronome a little lacking in comparison to the SoundBrenner and the one from UG. But if you already have a tuner app, then it’s functional! Some cool time signatures there including 7/8 and 12/8.

These are 4 apps that I’ve used or use as a metronome for guitar!

Are there any metronome (or other apps…) that you use? Let me know about them below!

--

--

Jonathan Stewart
The Busy Guitarist

I’m a musician who loves sharing stories. Stories about music & life. Today I decided to stop hiding my work to see if they can help others as others have me.