How Do You Turn A Productivity App Into A Practice App?

Jonathan Stewart
The Busy Guitarist
Published in
3 min readNov 2, 2018

I’m a productivity junkie. I love new tools that I can use to make me more productive — especially when it comes to running my business! But these productivity tools can also help with your practice…Let me explain how.

I’ve spent years obsessing (I obsess over obsessing…it’s true) over being productive, finding the latest research, latest apps and tools that can help increase how productive I am, whether it’s journaling or pomodoro timers. I flipping love em.

That’s nice…but what does it have to do with playing guitar

Absolutely everything.

Too many things to do!

As you’ve often heard it’s important to practice as much as you can(even daily if you can manage it…which you can.) But being able to squeeze in time when you’re always busy is difficult.

If you run a business you end up spending tons of time:

  • Writing Blog Posts
  • Contacting clients
  • writing your newsletter
  • Creating new content!

This takes up time, and if you’re a productivity junkie (like I kinda am…) you don’t break up what you’re doing and end up getting overwhelmed and end up doing nothing.

This is the same with practicing guitar, you try to find time to practice because you need to work on:

  • Songs
  • Technique
  • Sight Reading
  • Ear Training
  • Scales…

and that list goes on…so trying to find time for all (or any of that…) is equally impossible!

This is something I’ve faced for years, trying to balance running and a business and also practicing every day without burnout! I discovered a way of balancing this perfectly!

FocusMe: Guitar Practice & Productivity Together In Harmony

This tool has helped me do something it was never designed for. Daily practice on guitar, and it’s the hackiest hack that ever hacked…yikes to many words.

Now let me preface this by saying I’m not talking about all the features here (because you’re busy and this post is going on long enough) just the one feature that is a GOD SEND to my guitar productivity…and it’s this one screen:

The most slap of the wrist I’ve ever seen from an app! :)

TAKE A BREAK!

Now in the app you can set the time to whatever you want. I currently set it for 10 minutes. After an hour of work I have to step away from the computer for 10 minutes.

Now…what could I do with that 10 minutes…

PLAY THE DAMN GUITAR!

During this 10 minutes I spend time practicing something I’m working on! I don’t even need to set a timer! All i’ve gotta do is just wait for the clock to tick down!

I can sit there and practice anything I need to within that 10 minutes!

This is just one way I manage to squeeze in at least 10 minutes a day!

The cool thing is however…is that it can be 10 minutes every hour of working you do on the computer! You’d be surprised how quick that adds up!

How many hours do you normally spend on your computer working?!

--

--

Jonathan Stewart
The Busy Guitarist

I’m a musician who loves sharing stories. Stories about music & life. Today I decided to stop hiding my work to see if they can help others as others have me.