My Pandemic Small Business Origin Story

Paola Colon
The Buzz @ Georgia Tech
3 min readFeb 11, 2021

Yes, you read that right. It took a whole pandemic for me to finally pursue my passion of starting a small business. While studying online at Tech, I have become an expert in the art of procrastination, only this time I chose to procrastinate by starting a side hustle. When I started the Fall semester from home, I took the extra time I had between classes and on weekends to work on an idea I’d had in the back of my mind.

I started Afuego Label in September 2020. Afuego began with a huge collection of Littlest Pet Shop toys and no idea what to do with them. After counting and separating them, I realized that I had enough pairs to make into earrings. I quickly texted my friends and they were fascinated with the idea. That same day I placed a few orders of jewelry equipment and made a logo and an Instagram page (@afuegolabel). I took my personal interests, sustainability and fashion, and made my own brand.

Did I know anything about managing a business? Not really.

Did I learn on the way? Yes!

And that’s the beauty of starting a small business. No one really knows how to start or properly manage a business; you learn along the way. It’s all about shooting your shot, taking your idea and running with it! I know that it may sound cheesy or commercial but having a business is really all about believing in yourself and your product.

I started by having 12 pairs of Littlest Pet Shop earrings, a deck of cards, and taking orders through Instagram. Now I have more than 20 different designs of earrings, custom packaging, and a website (afuegolabel.com).

Littlest Pet Shop, Skateboard, and Guitar Pick earrings are a few examples of the product I have now.

Of course, getting here wasn’t easy. It took a lot of restless nights, Excel sheets, and online orders to get where I am today. While having a business may seem fun, it is also a lot of work. Currently, I am juggling 14 credit hours while maintaining an Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, and website. Marketing, budgeting, and making the products can be a lot to handle, especially when you’re a college student. But let me be the first person to tell you that all that work is compensated when you receive detailed messages from customers thanking you for their order, or Instagram messages from friends and colleagues who are proud of you and support your brand.

Having a small business can be a lot of work but sometimes all you need is one push to make your idea a reality!

Comment down below if you would like to hear more about starting your own business!

--

--

Paola Colon
The Buzz @ Georgia Tech

Hello! My name is Paola and I am a 19 year old small business owner. Follow me on The Buzz to see some of my tips on how to start your own small business!