Sounds of Sanity: The Role of Music in this Pandemic

Erato
The Buzz @ Georgia Tech
5 min readApr 9, 2021

by Miguel Jimenez

Erato is Georgia Tech’s journal of arts and literature. We publish artwork and creative writing submitted by students and faculty. You can pick up our 50th anniversary edition from the CULC, CoC, Klaus, or Howey!

Original photo by Garrett Morrow from Pexels

Like countless other students around the world, I first saw the pandemic as a major disruption to my routine. Yet with time, I began to understand it more as an opportunity to get to know myself better. Being stuck in my apartment had given me the time to bake, to write, and to discover new ways to ease my anxiety.

Music became especially important in these times of uncertainty. When I was feeling overwhelmed, I could put on my headphones to let music drift me into a state of calmness and bliss. The extra time around my phone allowed me to find new songs to vibe to or rediscover forgotten tunes.

Two albums stand out for their help in times of struggle. Turnover’s Good Nature and Sasha, Benny, and Erik’s Vuelta al Sol provided me with the energy to endure the pandemic, each in their own way.

Good Nature (2017)

🎧 Good Nature 🎧

Good Nature was a breeze of fresh air each time I heard it, and its dreamy songs helped alleviate all my worries. The album was an unexpected find early in the pandemic. I was sitting by my desk working on a challenging assignment while listening to music; for hours I had been working on it, fed up and tired, until a series of guitar strums caught my attention. Their serene, repeating rhythm somehow relieved most of that stress. The more I listened, the more I felt at peace. As soon as the song had finished, I went to find the source of this masterpiece. It was a 2017 album from the American rock band Turnover. It was my first time I had encountered them, but I am thankful I did because their music helped me keep my sanity during the pandemic.

There was one song which became especially meaningful. The opening title “Super Natural” gave me the opportunity to take a break from all my worries by escaping to the world it describes. The lyrics vividly narrate a couple enjoying their day at a beach carnival, going on a carousel and taking a swim. Since the pandemic caused my friends to return home and cancelled many events, “Super Natural’s” description was the closest thing I had to spending time outside with them. It helped me look forward to meeting them again; every time I listened to the song the melancholy of a lost senior year disappeared, and I reminded myself that one day I would hang out with them again.

Each of the songs in Good Nature were relatable at some point during the pandemic. For instance, in “Sunshine Type,” Turnover explains how “it hurts when you gotta be at home and stay inside,” but even when you “scream and shout, throw your hands up until you go blue in the face, you still won’t make things change.” The song was a reminder to go with the flow, accept my lack of control, and find peace in the fact that we are all in the same boat. I really enjoyed the nature motifs present throughout the album that, along with the calm composition and choice of instruments, gave me a breath of fresh air even when I was stuck in my apartment.

Vuelta al Sol (2014)

🎧 Vuelta al Sol 🎧

The second album that stood out from my pandemic playlist was Sasha, Benny, and Erik’s Vuelta al Sol, or “turn around the sun” in Spanish. The album truly was a trip around the sun because its uplifting songs gave me a daily dose of optimism. I discovered this Mexican pop band years ago before they separated, but I had forgotten about their 2014 album. Vuelta al Sol is one of the most representative works of pop music in Mexico because it embodies the upbeat, happy, and expressive nature of the genre. As such, the album recharged my good mood during the pandemic.

This is especially true of the song “Punto de Partida,” which translates to “point of departure.” Sasha, Benny, and Erik begin the album cheerfully with this ecstatic song. As soon as the song begins, a series of repetitive guitar strokes and drumbeats introduce the listener to the song’s catchy chorus, which blasts the listener with a shock of energy. Then the song calms down to give way to short verses which soon return to the electrifying chorus.

Although “Punto de Partida” is a romantic song, its message resonates even to those who are not in a relationship. One must find, as the title suggests, a point of departure to overcome fears, to heal wounds, and to trust your decisions. Along with the upbeat music, these lyrics have helped me maintain a positive attitude during the pandemic.

Burdened with loneliness and virtual school, it felt like the I had hit rock bottom, but listening to Vuelta al Sol motivated me to maintain an optimistic view on my future; just because I was going through this challenging period did not mean that life would not get better, and Sasha, Benny, and Erik kept reminding me of that.

I recommend listening to both albums because they can bring you peace and happiness, especially when the pandemic is still at large. Listening to Good Nature and Vuelta al Sol have become part of my daily routine. Their music has reminded me of the influence that music — and art in general — has on our lives. A song can lift you up or it can really put you down, and it is surprising how a series of chords, sounds, and lyrics can have this effect on people. With technology and the internet, we listen to music almost every day, and thus we have taken music for granted, forgetting that as an art it still influences us. We should pay closer attention to our favorite songs and reflect upon their effect on us; we will not only find out more about them, but also about ourselves.

Follow Erato on Instagram and Facebook! Submit your art and creative writing through our website. Contact us at eratojournal@gmail.com to join our staff or request to be featured

--

--

Erato
The Buzz @ Georgia Tech

Erato is Georgia Tech’s arts and literature magazine.