Working for YouTubers and Navigating a Career in Digital Entertainment

Monty Ruderman
The Call Sheet Weekly
4 min readDec 4, 2019

Click here to subscribe to The Call Sheet, a weekly newsletter that provides rising filmmakers with tips on how to get ahead in the film industry.

If you’re like me, you probably have a few favorite YouTubers or channels you can’t get enough of. YouTube has become a viable career option for creators, the most visible components of the new wave of entertainment in the digital age.

But did you know that you can make a career actually working for these people?

That’s right. Many big-name YouTubers with multi-million-subscriber bases have created brands around their channels. YouTubers Rhett & Link created Mythical Entertainment , where recent graduate Mindy Castillo works.

The Call Sheet teamed up for a Q&A with Castillo to give you advice on how to navigate a career in digital media and entertainment.

Mindy Castillo is a USC graduate (Class of 2019). She has worked at Entertainment Tonight as media assistant and also as a research intern for CONAN.

Q: How did you find Mythical Entertainment?

A: Mythical is an entertainment company and lifestyle brand founded by Rhett & Link, who began their career creating wildly popular comedic songs and sketches.

Mythical’s flagship show is the comedy talk show, Good Mythical Morning (GMM), which has over 15 million subscribers, 100 million monthly views, and nearly 6 billion lifetime views on YouTube.

I found my current job position on the UTA Job List.

Q: What was the application and interview process like?

A: After I saw the job for Executive Assistant to CCO and COO at Mythical on the UTA Job List, I sent my resume in (knowing darn well I had no assistant experience at all). However, I knew a friend of mine who I interned at CONAN with is an Associate Producer there so I reached out to her to learn more about the company.

She ended up sending my resume for a production assistant role and I was called in for an interview. A couple days after the PA interview, they reached out again about coming in to interview for the Executive Assistant role. When I came back for my second interview, I realized how much I really enjoyed the people who work there.

Then I got an offer for the EA position the same night as my interview!

Rhett McLaughlin and Link Neal on set of their flagship comedy talk show on YouTube, Good Mythical Morning.

Q: What is a day in your work life like?

A: My main responsibilities are scheduling meetings for the CCO and COO, managing the production calendar and helping with whatever the executives need assistance with.

What I really enjoy about my job right now is that I’m being exposed to the process of putting together comedy shows! My current bosses know that my main goal is to produce and write comedy (and maybe host a comedy talk show), so they have encouraged me to partake in creative production meetings when I have time!

Q: Why do you like Mythical Entertainment?

A: I’m loving Mythical Entertainment so far because not only do I enjoy the content they create, but I also love the people and the environment that I am in. Everyone is very helpful, encouraging and incredibly hardworking. I’m seriously inspired everyday that I walk into work.

I also like Mythical because their shows combine two of my favorite things — comedy and talk shows. I would definitely recommend recent grads to look for companies, shows, projects that truly value their employees and offer opportunities to grow.

Q: Any advice for those who may be afraid of the job application process and “adulting”?

A: I know it can be scary but just remind yourself that you are capable of anything you put your mind to! To be quite honest… we’re all trying to figure life out. It’s not just college seniors who go through these moments! Just always stay true to yourself and do your best!

Also, speaking to my fellow Trojans, take full advantage of the insane USC network. Seriously, it’s poppin’. If you know there are alumni that work at a company you want to work at, feel reach out to them. Fun fact: every time I have reached out to an alum for advice, they have always responded. See? The Trojan connection is no joke.

Click here if you’re interested in seeing jobs at talent agencies and other companies in film and entertainment!

--

--

Monty Ruderman
The Call Sheet Weekly

Paid Media at Biden For President // USC Annenberg Alum // Empowering social impact and responsible business in digital and content production