Canadian Living

10 Life Lessons From 10 Years In Canada

A decade of lessons and adventure

RAINNA
The Canadian Way
Published in
8 min readNov 23, 2023

--

How many of you realize that Christmas is next month? Time flies so fast, eh? Time moves so quickly before you know it. I just realized that it had been a decade since I stepped into this beautiful country — Canada.

A lot of things happened in ten years of living here in Canada. It has shaped who I am today, and I am grateful for that. I have learned and experienced a lot of different things, some of which I want to share with you.

Before I dive in, I wanted to share a little back story of myself. I came from the Philippines and moved in 2013 with my two older brothers; I came here when I was turning fifteen. I didn't want to go here at first because I would be far away from my friends, but little did I know that I would make many friends here, too. I was homesick for a year until I got my first job at sixteen. Since then, my life has changed.

Ten Life Lessons I Learned Living In Canada:

1. We are all equal.

My first job here in Canada was at Tim Horton's. Tim Horton's is a fast food restaurant that sells coffee, sandwiches, donuts, and much more. I worked there for five years. I served many people of…

--

--

RAINNA
The Canadian Way

Currently writing a memoir• I write about JESUS, life lessons, health, relationships & self-improvement•Featured in Thought Catalog & Elephant Journal🇵🇭🇨🇦