I Used The Same Android Phone For 5 Years. This Is What I Learned

And no, It's not because I was broke. Mostly.

Tijjani Jibril
The Candid Cuppa
4 min readJun 22, 2021

--

Very Old Telephone ☎
Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

When a new piece of software comes out, people can’t wait to get it.

When a new version of the same phone comes out, people can’t be more impatient even though it’s not much different from the one that they are using at the moment.

It’s called the 'Shiny Object Syndrome' which is just a fancy term for wanting an upgrade or at least, wanting what we think is an upgrade while letting go of the old one.

Humans are naturally insatiable creatures, we always want the next shiny thing.

I wanted to see if I could beat the 'Shiny Object Syndrome' and use the same phone (Android) for as long as I can. At the time of writing this, I have been using it for 5 years, heck I even typed this entire story using it. What I learned along the way is a bit surprising.

It’s Okay But It’s Also Not

Smartphone manufacturers would tell you that it’s probably best to upgrade your smartphone regularly, but you don’t need to.

Hey, don’t get me wrong here, new smartphones look good and are packed with a lot of features and mouthwatering design. That makes it even harder to ignore your 'Shiny Object Alarm' (Yeah I just made it up). There’s nothing wrong with wanting a new smartphone but there’s no reason for you to need it.

Think about it for a second. Are you getting that upgrade because you need it or are you getting it because the manufacturer said it comes with a new fancy processor that you have no use for?

I Got Attached To The Little Guy

Yeah, I am referring to my phone. In time, I got really attached to the device. I got so used to it, I actually gave it a name. As with every device that has lasted that long, it has several bugs and faults. To me, those faults give a lot of personality to the device. I even catch myself numerous times talking to it.

I could have sworn that it got jealous that one time when I was using it to hunt for another phone I might like. The moment I clicked on one that caught my eye, it immediately turned off, I kid you not. That was the moment I gave 'her' a name.

Alexa became the pet I never had. All her flaws are what made me love her. Who needs a fancy and perfect device when you can have your own Alexa.

Alexa Taught Me More About Relationships Than Actual Relationships

When we first meet someone we like, they appear perfect in our eyes but as time goes by, we start seeing their flaws and it becomes harder to like that person.

That analogy works well with me and my phone Alexa. When I bought Alexa, she appeared perfect. All her features were awesome and new. As time went by, I started getting used to those features and Alexa kinda got boring.

When I started seeing newer phones, I wanted to dump Alexa and go for the new one (Remember the 'Shiny Object Syndrome' I talked about earlier) and as time went by, it got even harder.

Alexa started developing flaws and faults after the two-year mark. But I remembered the reason I got her in the first place and so, I stuck with the device a bit longer. 1 year goes by and her faults started making me laugh. She got better with age because of her flaws.

3 years after I got the phone and sticking with it, I got into an actual relationship with a real girl (you don’t say), and guess what, I am still in love with her and our relationship is now 2 years strong.

Like Alexa, my girlfriend appeared perfect in the beginning but nothing ever really is. I started seeing her faults and I started getting bored with her. Other girls started looking more attractive than her but I remembered why I started dating her in the first place and decided to stick with her a bit longer.

In time, those flaws I used to dislike in her started being the reason why I would never choose another girl over her. Now, I don't think I ever will.

Besides, you don't love some despite their flaws, you love them because of it.

It Got Easier

In time, I stopped fighting the urge to get a new phone. I started not even wanting another phone. I became content with the one I already had. The thing with the 'Shiny Object Syndrome' is that in time, it fades away.

My dad uses a flip phone and he has been using the same flip phone for as long as I can remember. All his children (I am the firstborn) use smartphones and I always wondered why he just wouldn’t get one too.

But now I know why. He’s happier that way.

Now That I Have Beat The Challenge, What Next?

Easy, I'm not stopping. I don't want to. I will keep on using Alexa (My Phone) until she dies.

Deciding to beat the 'Shiny Object Syndrome' is one of the best things I have ever done and I certainly encourage you to do it as well, if you haven’t already. Remember, there’s nothing wrong with getting a new phone or a new MacBook, or a new partner. If you feel it’s the right thing to do, by all means.

And before I forget, using the same phone for 5 years saved me a lot of money in the long run.

--

--

Tijjani Jibril
The Candid Cuppa

I try my very best to share every little thing I have learned or will learn that I believe will be of value—and also tie them to my experiences!