Use Creative Inspiration To Make Yourself A Better Writer

Why are writers telling themselves inspiration doesn’t matter?

Ian Canon
The Canonical Reader

--

From Pixabay on Pexels

You may have heard this quote before…

I write when I’m inspired, and I see to it that I’m inspired at nine o’clock every morning.

The moral of the quote: write even when you don’t feel like writing. If you wait for inspiration to strike, you will never finish a novel or become a serious writer.

And that’s great advice. You should create a writing habit—keyword habit.

That’s how you build up a writing practice and turn that habit into a job, a career, and a passion. You work at it daily, whether you want to or not. You take it seriously and you show up.

But I think in that messaging, a lot of writers forgot that inspiration helps.

For example, I asked this question recently on Quora, relating to my last article, “How do you stay inspired while writing a novel?”

--

--

Ian Canon
The Canonical Reader

Author of ITS A LONG WAY DOWN & BEFORE OBLIVION. MFA in Creative Writing, freelancer, novelist, poet, marketer, writer linktr.ee/thisisallcanon