The Future of Bitcoin Will Not Look Like You Think it Will

By Mark Helfman on ALTCOIN MAGAZINE

Mark Helfman
Published in
6 min readMay 17, 2019

--

I’m too young to remember the birth of the internet. I was in high school during the dot-com boom and somewhat clueless about what was going on. At one of the family gatherings, my older cousin bragged about how much money he made buying and selling domain names. It seemed silly to me at the time.

Not reality yet.

Today, I still think it’s silly to buy a domain name and expect to make money selling it to somebody else. I know it happens sometimes, it just seems like a high-risk, low-reward investment.

Turns out the internet did, too. Now, 20 years later, domain names are cheap and search engines make them irrelevant for anything other than branding.

What does this have to do with the value of bitcoin?

It’s an example of how people’s perceptions of value change as technology evolves.

At this point, most people value bitcoin as money. The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Chairman says it is, drug cartels use it as such, and everybody I know thinks about it this way. Its name is bit-COIN for a reason.

--

--

Mark Helfman
The Capital

Sharing insights about bitcoin, altcoins, blockchain so you can make the most of the cryptocurrency market. Newsletter: https://cryptoiseasy.beehiiv.com/